Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Restore grub boot-list after deleting last installed Linux system partition

By default, the last installed Linux takes over the boot list. If you then delete that system's partition from within a different (that is: a previous) Linux system, you will not have any boot list when you reboot.

To restore the grub boot list (including any changes made with Grub Customizer) of this older system, the one from within which you have deleted the last installed Linux, just stay within this system and do not reboot before doing:

sudo grub-install /dev/sda
sudo update-grub


No comments:

Post a Comment